COM HPC - CPU-Modules for High Performance Computing

The emerging standard PICMG COM High Performance Computing ("COM HPC") addresses the ever-increasing need for more processing power and higher I/O performance. The COM-HPC standard for high-performance computer-on-modules is just about to become ratified by the standardization organization PICMG (PCI Industrial Computer Manufacturers Group).

Preliminary information:

Differences: COM HPC compared to COM Express

COM HPC CPU modules address the demands of high performance applications. These modules support processors with significantly higher computing performance, COM HPC furthermore offers many more high-speed interfaces and support much more on-board memory.
 
COM HPC connector
 
For this purpose, a completely newly developed, high-performance connector was developed from the module to the carrier board. Compared to COM Express modules, which have to make do with 440 pins to the carrier board, the COM-HPC specification provides 800 pins. This allows e.g. doubling the maximum number of PCIe lanes from 32 for COM Express Type 7 to 64 for COM-HPC / Server.
 
Support for PCIe 5.0
 
While modules according to the COM Express standard run at maximum PCIe Gen 3.0 with 8 GBit / s per lane at their Grenazen, COM-HPC modules reach over PCIe-5.0 up to 32 GBit / s per lane, which is 4 times the data rate of COM Express complies.

COM-HPC modules will therefore be used mainly in the area of ​​performance-oriented applications, such as In areas such as Artificial Intelligence, where Deep Learning functionalities are embedded in embedded systems, further applications will be found in the 5G area or in applications where multi-dimensional data streams are processed.

Ethernet connectivity
 
While COM-Express Type 7 modules have a maximum of 10 Gbit Ethernet per signal pair, COM HPC modules are specified for 25 Gbit Ethernet (and more). With the maximum possible eight network connections, transfer rates of 100 GBit / s (theoretically even 200 GBit / s) can be realized.

Memory
 
The COM-HPC standard provides up to eight DIMM banks on the module, depending on the selected module footprint.

COM HPC module formats

COM HPC provides two module classes. Within these two module classes, there are two different form factors: server modules and client modules.

COM-HPC server modules

COM-HPC / Server modules are tailored for use in edge server environments. They support generous memory capacities, a particularly powerful network connectivity. The larger COM HPC server-on modules have a footprint of 200mm x 160mm, allowing for up to 8 DIMM slots. Server modules with the smaller 160 mm x 160 mm footprint support a maximum of 4 DIMM slots.

COM HPC client modules

The COM-HPC / Client modules both support the two 120mm x 120mm and 160mm x 120mm footprint variants and are expected to be used in high-end embedded computing applications. The COM-HPC client modules do away with Ethernet connectivity in favor of high-resolution display interfaces. They offer a maximum of 2 x Gigabit Ethernet interfaces (via NBASE-T). Instead, COM-HPC / client modules have built-in video interfaces such as DDI and eDP / MIPI-DSI, which can control up to four independent high-resolution displays.

Power Requirements
 
COM HPC client modules require up to 200 watts of power. Up to 300 watts are foreseen for COM HPC server modules. For this purpose, the specification in the primary connector provides 28 power pins on each COM-HPC module.
The emerging standard PICMG COM High Performance Computing ("COM HPC") addresses the ever-increasing need for more processing power and higher I/O performance. The COM-HPC standard for... read more »
Close window
COM HPC - CPU-Modules for High Performance Computing
The emerging standard PICMG COM High Performance Computing ("COM HPC") addresses the ever-increasing need for more processing power and higher I/O performance. The COM-HPC standard for high-performance computer-on-modules is just about to become ratified by the standardization organization PICMG (PCI Industrial Computer Manufacturers Group).

Preliminary information:

Differences: COM HPC compared to COM Express

COM HPC CPU modules address the demands of high performance applications. These modules support processors with significantly higher computing performance, COM HPC furthermore offers many more high-speed interfaces and support much more on-board memory.
 
COM HPC connector
 
For this purpose, a completely newly developed, high-performance connector was developed from the module to the carrier board. Compared to COM Express modules, which have to make do with 440 pins to the carrier board, the COM-HPC specification provides 800 pins. This allows e.g. doubling the maximum number of PCIe lanes from 32 for COM Express Type 7 to 64 for COM-HPC / Server.
 
Support for PCIe 5.0
 
While modules according to the COM Express standard run at maximum PCIe Gen 3.0 with 8 GBit / s per lane at their Grenazen, COM-HPC modules reach over PCIe-5.0 up to 32 GBit / s per lane, which is 4 times the data rate of COM Express complies.

COM-HPC modules will therefore be used mainly in the area of ​​performance-oriented applications, such as In areas such as Artificial Intelligence, where Deep Learning functionalities are embedded in embedded systems, further applications will be found in the 5G area or in applications where multi-dimensional data streams are processed.

Ethernet connectivity
 
While COM-Express Type 7 modules have a maximum of 10 Gbit Ethernet per signal pair, COM HPC modules are specified for 25 Gbit Ethernet (and more). With the maximum possible eight network connections, transfer rates of 100 GBit / s (theoretically even 200 GBit / s) can be realized.

Memory
 
The COM-HPC standard provides up to eight DIMM banks on the module, depending on the selected module footprint.

COM HPC module formats

COM HPC provides two module classes. Within these two module classes, there are two different form factors: server modules and client modules.

COM-HPC server modules

COM-HPC / Server modules are tailored for use in edge server environments. They support generous memory capacities, a particularly powerful network connectivity. The larger COM HPC server-on modules have a footprint of 200mm x 160mm, allowing for up to 8 DIMM slots. Server modules with the smaller 160 mm x 160 mm footprint support a maximum of 4 DIMM slots.

COM HPC client modules

The COM-HPC / Client modules both support the two 120mm x 120mm and 160mm x 120mm footprint variants and are expected to be used in high-end embedded computing applications. The COM-HPC client modules do away with Ethernet connectivity in favor of high-resolution display interfaces. They offer a maximum of 2 x Gigabit Ethernet interfaces (via NBASE-T). Instead, COM-HPC / client modules have built-in video interfaces such as DDI and eDP / MIPI-DSI, which can control up to four independent high-resolution displays.

Power Requirements
 
COM HPC client modules require up to 200 watts of power. Up to 300 watts are foreseen for COM HPC server modules. For this purpose, the specification in the primary connector provides 28 power pins on each COM-HPC module.
Close filters
No results were found for the filter!
Viewed

COM HPC - CPU-Module für High Performance Computing

Der aufkommende PICMG Standard COM High Performance Computing ("COM HPC") addressiert den stetig zunehmenden Bedarf nach mehr Rechenleistung und höherer I/O-Performance.Der COM-HPC-Standard für High-Performance-Computer-on-Module steht kurz vor der Ratifizierung durch die Standardisierungsorganisation PICMG (PCI Industrial Computer Manufacturers Group).

Vorläufige Informationen:

Unterschiede: COM HPC im Vergleich zu COM Express

COM HPC CPU-Module addressieren High Performance Anwendungen. Die Module unterstützen Prozessoren mit einer erheblich höheren Computing-Performance, COM HPC bietet darüber hinaus viel mehr High-Speed Schnittstellen.

COM HPC Stckverbinder

Hierfür wurde ein komplett neu entwickelter, leistungsfähiger Steckverbinder vom Modul zum Carrierboard entwickelt. Im Vergleich zu COM Express-Modulen, welches mit 440 Pins zum Carrier-Board auskommen müssen, sieht die COM-HPC-Spezifikation 800 Pins vor. Dies ermöglicht z.B. einer Verdopplung der maximalen Anzahl der PCIe-Lanes von 32 bei COM Express Type 7 auf 64 bei COM-HPC/Server.

Unterstützung von PCIe 5.0

Während Module nach dem COM Express Standard bei maximal PCIe Gen 3.0 mit 8 GBit/s je Lane an Ihre Grenazen stoßen, erreichen COM-HPC-Module über PCIe-5.0 bis zu 32 GBit/s pro Lane, was der 4-fachen Datenrate von COM Express entspricht.

COM-HPC-Module werden deshalb hauptsächlich im Bereich von leistungsorientierte Anwendungen zum Einsatz kommen, wie z.B. in Bereichen wie der Künstliche Intelligenz, woe Deep Learning Funktionalitäten in Embedded-Systeme einzubettet werden, weitere Anwendungen werden im Bereich 5G oder in Applikationen wo mehrdimensionale Datenströme verarbeitet werden zu finden sein.

Ethernet Connectivity

Während COM-Express Typ 7 Module maximal 10 GBit Ethernet pro Signalpaar aufweisen, sind COM HPC-Module für 25 GBit Ethernet (und mehr) spezifiziert. Mit den maximal möglichen acht Netzwerkverbindungen lassen sich dann Übertragungsraten von 100 GBit/s (theoretisch sogar 200 GBit/s) realisieren.

Arbeitsspeicher

Der COM-HPC Standard sieht -je nach gewähltem Modul-Footprint- bis zu acht DIMM-Bänke auf dem Modul vor.

COM HPC Modul-Formate

COM HPC sieht zwei Modulklassen vor. Innerhalb dieser zwei Modulklassen gibt es zwei unterschiedliche Formfaktoren: Server-Module und Client-Module.

COM-HPC Server-Module

COM-HPC/Server-Module sind für den Einsatz in Edge-Server-Umgebungen zugeschnitten. Sie unterstützen großzügige Arbeitsspeicherkapazitäten, eine besonders leistungsfähige Netzwerk-Connectivity. Die größeren COM HPC Server-on-Module weisen ein Footprint von 200 mm x 160 mm auf, was eine Ausstattung mit bis zu 8 DIMM-Steckplätzen ermöglicht. Server-Module mit dem kleineren 160 mm x 160 mm Footprint unterstützen maximal 4 DIMM-Steckplätze.

COM-HPC-Client-Module

Die COM-HPC/Client-Module unterstützen beide die zwei Footprint-Varianten mit 120 mm x 120 mm und 160 mm x 120 mm geplant und sollen in High-End-Anwendungen im Embedded Computing-Bereich zum Einsatz kommen. Die COM-HPC-Client-Module verzichte auf Ethernet-Konnektivität zugunsten hochauflösender Display-Schnittstellen.Sie bieten maximal 2 x Gigabit-Ethernet-Schnittstellen (via NBASE-T). Stattdessen verfügen COM-HPC/Client-Module über integrierte Videoschnittstellen wie DDI und eDP/MIPI-DSI, über die sich bis zu vier unabhängige hochauflösende Displays ansteuern lassen.

Leistungsaufnahme

COM HPC Client-Module benötigen bis zu 200 Watt an Leistung. Für COM HPC Server-Module sind bis zu 300 Watt Vorgesehen. Hierzu sieht die Spezifikation im Primary Connector auf jedem COM-HPC-Modul 28 Power Pins vor.

Der aufkommende PICMG Standard COM High Performance Computing ("COM HPC") addressiert den stetig zunehmenden Bedarf nach mehr Rechenleistung und höherer I/O-Performance.Der COM-HPC-Standard für... mehr erfahren »
Fenster schließen
COM HPC - CPU-Module für High Performance Computing

Der aufkommende PICMG Standard COM High Performance Computing ("COM HPC") addressiert den stetig zunehmenden Bedarf nach mehr Rechenleistung und höherer I/O-Performance.Der COM-HPC-Standard für High-Performance-Computer-on-Module steht kurz vor der Ratifizierung durch die Standardisierungsorganisation PICMG (PCI Industrial Computer Manufacturers Group).

Vorläufige Informationen:

Unterschiede: COM HPC im Vergleich zu COM Express

COM HPC CPU-Module addressieren High Performance Anwendungen. Die Module unterstützen Prozessoren mit einer erheblich höheren Computing-Performance, COM HPC bietet darüber hinaus viel mehr High-Speed Schnittstellen.

COM HPC Stckverbinder

Hierfür wurde ein komplett neu entwickelter, leistungsfähiger Steckverbinder vom Modul zum Carrierboard entwickelt. Im Vergleich zu COM Express-Modulen, welches mit 440 Pins zum Carrier-Board auskommen müssen, sieht die COM-HPC-Spezifikation 800 Pins vor. Dies ermöglicht z.B. einer Verdopplung der maximalen Anzahl der PCIe-Lanes von 32 bei COM Express Type 7 auf 64 bei COM-HPC/Server.

Unterstützung von PCIe 5.0

Während Module nach dem COM Express Standard bei maximal PCIe Gen 3.0 mit 8 GBit/s je Lane an Ihre Grenazen stoßen, erreichen COM-HPC-Module über PCIe-5.0 bis zu 32 GBit/s pro Lane, was der 4-fachen Datenrate von COM Express entspricht.

COM-HPC-Module werden deshalb hauptsächlich im Bereich von leistungsorientierte Anwendungen zum Einsatz kommen, wie z.B. in Bereichen wie der Künstliche Intelligenz, woe Deep Learning Funktionalitäten in Embedded-Systeme einzubettet werden, weitere Anwendungen werden im Bereich 5G oder in Applikationen wo mehrdimensionale Datenströme verarbeitet werden zu finden sein.

Ethernet Connectivity

Während COM-Express Typ 7 Module maximal 10 GBit Ethernet pro Signalpaar aufweisen, sind COM HPC-Module für 25 GBit Ethernet (und mehr) spezifiziert. Mit den maximal möglichen acht Netzwerkverbindungen lassen sich dann Übertragungsraten von 100 GBit/s (theoretisch sogar 200 GBit/s) realisieren.

Arbeitsspeicher

Der COM-HPC Standard sieht -je nach gewähltem Modul-Footprint- bis zu acht DIMM-Bänke auf dem Modul vor.

COM HPC Modul-Formate

COM HPC sieht zwei Modulklassen vor. Innerhalb dieser zwei Modulklassen gibt es zwei unterschiedliche Formfaktoren: Server-Module und Client-Module.

COM-HPC Server-Module

COM-HPC/Server-Module sind für den Einsatz in Edge-Server-Umgebungen zugeschnitten. Sie unterstützen großzügige Arbeitsspeicherkapazitäten, eine besonders leistungsfähige Netzwerk-Connectivity. Die größeren COM HPC Server-on-Module weisen ein Footprint von 200 mm x 160 mm auf, was eine Ausstattung mit bis zu 8 DIMM-Steckplätzen ermöglicht. Server-Module mit dem kleineren 160 mm x 160 mm Footprint unterstützen maximal 4 DIMM-Steckplätze.

COM-HPC-Client-Module

Die COM-HPC/Client-Module unterstützen beide die zwei Footprint-Varianten mit 120 mm x 120 mm und 160 mm x 120 mm geplant und sollen in High-End-Anwendungen im Embedded Computing-Bereich zum Einsatz kommen. Die COM-HPC-Client-Module verzichte auf Ethernet-Konnektivität zugunsten hochauflösender Display-Schnittstellen.Sie bieten maximal 2 x Gigabit-Ethernet-Schnittstellen (via NBASE-T). Stattdessen verfügen COM-HPC/Client-Module über integrierte Videoschnittstellen wie DDI und eDP/MIPI-DSI, über die sich bis zu vier unabhängige hochauflösende Displays ansteuern lassen.

Leistungsaufnahme

COM HPC Client-Module benötigen bis zu 200 Watt an Leistung. Für COM HPC Server-Module sind bis zu 300 Watt Vorgesehen. Hierzu sieht die Spezifikation im Primary Connector auf jedem COM-HPC-Modul 28 Power Pins vor.

Filter schließen
Für die Filterung wurden keine Ergebnisse gefunden!
Zuletzt angesehen